Day 19 – Yes That’s My Name In Black and White, Maybe I’m Doing Something Right

You know, being a tutor/teaching assistant is a lot more work than I ever realised when I was an undergrad. Helping first years has been especially tough because there are so many ways that you can help them but you have to find the balance between spoon-feeding them information and being unhelpfully vague. Having tutored a second year paper last year, I would say that this year has been a lot more draining. Not only because of the broad range of concepts that need to be covered but also just teaching them the basic things like how to structure an academic essay.

If I get them here, I'll consider it a win.

If I get them here, I’ll consider it a win.

All of us at the office had an endless string of emails and meetings today. Personally I’m just glad they care enough to check with us. Oh I hope you appreciate our effort, first years. You have no idea how burnt out we were today.

Speaking of the office, my name is finally on the door. Wooo!!  Perhaps you will recognise some of the initials I often mention in this blog. Shout out to BL, CH and NW if you’re reading this 🙂

Names have been redacted to protect us from potential stalkers and institutional backlash.

Names have been redacted to protect us from potential stalkers and institutional backlash.

I guess referring to myself as “The Forgotten Postgrad” no longer has the same relevance, especially since they’ve also now corrected the spelling of my name on the university website. There’s still the matter of not getting my “this is what you need to do” email that all the other postgrads got. Considering the deadline that that email would have been referring to is in just a little over a week, it’s probably a tad late…

It does feel kind of awesome to have a room with your name on it. Perhaps I should put a post it outside my bedroom door with “AGaTrois” on it, just for shits and giggles. I guess the people in this house wouldn’t know who that was either so it would perfectly capture the feeling.

Yeah...

Yeah…

Things I did today instead of working:

  • Nothing. Actually nothing. Everyone in the office spent the whole day meeting with students and responding to student emails. I really hope this means this next lot of essays will be amazing.
  • I guess technically since I didn’t get any time for thesis stuff, what I did instead of working was working… tutorial planning, readings and just lots and lots of assignment help.

Random “the narrator is pathetic but this song rocks” lyrics:

I want you to want me.
I need you to need me.
I’d love you to love me.
I’m beggin’ you to beg me.

I’ll shine up my old brown shoes.
I’ll put on a brand new shirt
I’ll get home early from work
If you say that you love me.

– Cheap Trick

Leave a Reply

