Day 41 – Oh I Am What I Am (A fangirling TV dork)

They say you never forget your first love. I talked about Zack Morris before, now I’ll talk (rant) a little about my first cult tv show.

I was reading a chapter on Roswell in a book about cult television today and had a table flip moment when I saw that they misspelt the character and actor names when talking about the show. Seriously? The entire chapter is dedicated to the show! How do you get those things so wrong?

I had this exact photo durasealed on to the front of my math book. The one thing that made me happy in that class.

I had this exact photo durasealed on to the front of my math book. The one thing that made me happy in that class.

Of course, the reason it made me so angry was because this show was my first foray into the world of fandom. It allowed me to fully nerd out during my formative years and it resulted in me running a Neopets guild that revolved around the show. It was a labour of love and every minute was amazing. I think this need I still have to defend Roswell reflects how fandom is something that stays with you. When you’re fully immersed in a fan community, you can’t help but absorb some of those ideas and values into your own identity. I was a ‘Dreamer’ kind of shipper. Completely screwed up my ideas on how real life romances should play out but hey, who doesn’t love a good, tragic, intergalactic love story?

Why does this high school have a closet dedicated solely for storing erasers?

Why does this high school have a closet dedicated solely for storing erasers? Multiple closets, since he specifies the floor…

When it got cancelled, I eventually embraced the Buffy the Vampire Slayer universe. Suffice it to say, I wouldn’t be doing this MA if it wasn’t for this short-lived televisual masterpiece. It deserves respect, if only in the ‘get-their-freaking-names-right’ way!

Anyway, I ended up watching this fan-made video so that cheered me up a little:

Then I found out THIS happened and I was really, really, REALLY happy. 12 year old squeeeees all around.

Things I did instead of working:

  • Slept for a few hours. I came home under the pretense that I will be cleaning my gross room. I immediately fell asleep. Oh, sleep debt, when will you be paid off????
  • Game of Thrones, baby. I am still relatively ‘meh’ about this entire programme but it’s getting there. I’m not falling asleep because of it anymore, so we’ve made progress. Also, I’m up to episode eight of the second season. I may be able to watch the finale with everyone after all. It’s a good thing I suck at remembering names, everyone keeps dying 😦

Random “DON’T CRY, DON’T CRY, HOLD IT TOGETHER!” lyrics:

Never again
would I turn away from you
I’m so heavy tonight
But your love is alright
And I do believe
That not everything is gonna be the way
You think it ought to be
It seems like every time I try to make it right
It all comes down on me
Please say honestly
You won’t give up on me
And I shall believe
I shall believe
-Sheryl Crow
Oh god, it still makes me want to cry. Childhood trauma.

Oh god, it still makes me want to cry. Childhood trauma.

Leave a Reply

