Day 545 – Where Are Ü Now?

Usually when I’m late to posting, I try to fill up all the extra days with ‘cheat’ entries, trying to recall what I did on those days that I forgot to post. Well, baby, it’s been 484 days so you’ll just have to deal.

The good news is I completed my thesis! One month longer than I originally planned because I had glandular fever or what the cool kids call “mono”. It’s amazing how many people get sick during postgrad and not even realise it. It’s like we expect that deterioration of our health to be just another regular aspect of university. Fun fact: If you read back, you can see my descent into glandular fever. I didn’t even know I was sick but I was always complaining about it. Silly workaholics.

I'm fiiiiiine!

I’m fiiiiiine!

Anyway, here is the thesis in all its shiny, wonkily-bound glory. As my high school history teacher used to say, “There are many like it, but this one is mine”. He was actually talking about why we weren’t allowed to touch his newspaper and I don’t really think many people devoted themselves to analysing the engagement strategy of basic-cable teen channel but nevertheless, I successfully completed something! Yay!

My baby. Except it's better than a baby because it took longer than 9 months. Shhh just let me have this, it might be the only child I ever create.

My baby. Except it’s better than a baby because it took longer than 9 months. Shhh just let me have this, it might be the only child I ever create.

Hopefully finishing my thesis means you can forgive me for failing so hard at blogging. To be fair, I started this blog because I wanted to keep myself accountable for all the things I had been doing instead of working on my thesis. Because I was so hard at work, I didn’t have anything to write about!

…That’s my story and I’m sticking to it…

I will blog a little bit about the grade that I received for my thesis and all the cool things that have happened since then. It doesn’t really make sense to follow the daily blogging pattern anymore but I’ll try anyway so that I have things to do now that I’m unemployed. Yay again….?

Things I did today instead of working:

  • You didn’t read my post, did you? TL;DR I’m done with my masters. I can do whatever the hell I want. BAHAHAHA!
  • Actually, I spent the day marking assignments. What else is new? Seriously this whole blog should have just been entitled “Confessions of an Assignment Marker”. I reread most of my old posts and it’s just me ranting about how busy I am with assignments.
  • I watched Weeds. Such a good show. Here is a photo of Silas to help make your day brighter.
All right, jeez Silas. I already explained why I haven't been blogging!

All right, jeez Silas. I already explained why I haven’t been blogging! Chill.

Random lyrics that might as well have been written about the process of writing Master’s thesis:

I’ve paid my dues
Time after time
I’ve done my sentence
But committed no crime
And bad mistakes
I’ve made a few
I’ve had my share of sand
Kicked in my face
But I’ve come through

And we mean to go on and on and on and on

We are the champions – my friends
And we’ll keep on fighting
Till the end
We are the champions
We are the champions
No time for losers
‘Cause we are the champions of the World
– 
Queen

Leave a Reply

