I’ve been so caught up in my job, didn’t see what’s going on

I finally took a sick day today. I swear it’s been a long time coming. As usual my stressed-out butt was too stubborn to admit it needed time off but it also just caught up with me. Have you ever cough-vomited? Well, I have. You’re very welcome for that lovely image. Do you think that was my body telling me it needs me to slow down?

tumblr_lrmkdhKjmi1qbkkwqo1_500.jpg

I don’t own anything by Valentino but you get it

I feel like this is a bit of a pattern with me. I’m not good at taking breaks and allowing myself to just take a moment to regroup. From my blog entries from my Master’s, you’ll see this was also the case. I didn’t even realise I had glandular fever, that’s how badly I didn’t want to take a break…

So I’ve been taking steps towards making my life easier. I’ve decided to start my own website. It’s still in the planning stages but I’m hoping I can direct energy towards that rather than worrying about things that I can’t control. I’ve also started a journal which helps me to put things into perspective. It’s been helping a lot, actually. Writing things down really help me clarify to myself what I’m really worried about and helps me to see that:

1) What I’m worried about hasn’t even happened yet

2) Even if it does happen, it doesn’t have to be the end of the world.

chill-out-i-got-this-funny-bear-caption.jpg

I need to listen to the optimistic polar bear

People at work always say, “We don’t cure cancer. No one is going to die if there is a mistake.” I really need to remember this so that I feel more confident about the things I do.

I know I’m still learning but I have to say, it really sucks being back at the bottom of the totem pole. Maybe this is one of the biggest challenges of entering the workforce after uni – no matter how good you were as a student, you will always feel like you know nothing when you enter the industry.

Things I have learned since the last post:

  • I need ‘me’ time. This means finding a hobby so that work isn’t everything. I should have listened to Adam Sandler.
lista_inventos_click.jpg

Take some time to enjoy your personal life, before you end up *spoiler alert* losing Kate Beckinsale to Sean Astin

  • Ignoring your need for a sick day won’t make your illness go away. It’s going to get gross if you don’t listen to your body because it’s the ultimate drama queen
  • Writing down your thoughts helps to calm the crazy. When your mind is spinning out of control, write that shit down

Random ‘Stop Freaking Out and Accept That You’re Human’ lyrics:

If I’m not doin’ too well
Why be so hard on myself?

Nobody’s perfect
I gotta work it
Again and again
‘Til I get it right

Nobody’s perfect
You live and you learn it
And if I mess it up sometimes
Nobody’s perfect

– Hannah Montana

Leave a Reply

